Make sure that you know which civil court category your case falls under.
|Dollar Amount||The Case Is Usually A….|
|Under $10,000||Small claims case|
|Up to $25,000||Limited jurisdiction civil case|
|Over $25,000||Unlimited jurisdiction civil case|
You can find out more about your type of civil case by talking to a lawyer, using online information, or visiting the law library at the Hall of Justice in Fairfield.
Many of the documents you will need to file (such as a complaint or an answer) are available as pre-printed fillable forms. You can get many of the court forms you will need at the court clerk’s office. Local forms can be downloaded from the dropdown list below as well as by selecting “civil” from the main forms directory page. Judicial Council forms can be downloaded here.
Submit completed form to Court Administration via email at: firstname.lastname@example.org.
For information regarding nonrefundable jury fees please review the Civil Court FAQs located on the bottom of the main Civil page.
If you cannot afford to pay the fees, you may apply for a fee waiver. The form, instructions and proposed order are available on the California judicial site; select “fee waiver” from the drop-down menu. Make sure to read the instructions carefully to ensure that you qualify.
It is important to file any and all documents you want the judge to review well in advance of your hearing. For details on how to file your documents read the instructions below and also review the Civil Court FAQs located on the bottom of the main Civil page.
Documents are filed by appointment only in the civil clerk’s division located at 580 Texas Street, Fairfield, CA during the normal courthouse hours of 8:00 AM – 3:00 PM Mon – Fri, excluding court holidays. To ensure timely receipt to the judge of any upcoming court documents, please file at least two days before any scheduled hearing.
After hours filing must be done using the civil dropbox at either our Fairfield or Vallejo locations.
Hours: 7:30 AM – 5:00 PM
Hours: 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
You may also file your documents by mailing them to the address listed above. Please allow adequate time from the date of mailing for your documents to arrive at the court and to be processed. They should be processed at least 2 days prior to your hearing so bear that in mind.
If your filing requires a fee, please securely attach a check and do not attach cash to your documents.
If you want an endorsed-filed copy returned to you, include an extra copy of your documents and a self-addressed stamped envelope.
Solano County does not accept filings received by fax. Documents received by fax may be presented for filing in person, or by mail, with the applicable fees by a FAX filing agency, attorney’s office or another third party pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 2.303.
You can lookup information about your case online using Court Connect.
You can get copies of documents in your case file by visiting the civil clerk’s office located at 580 Texas Street, Fairfield, CA and paying the copy fees ($0.50 for each 1-sided page, $1.00 for each 2-sided page).
You can get transcripts of your court hearings by making a request to the court reporter who was present at your hearing. You can get that information by contacting the civil clerk’s office. There will be a fee for the transcript; please ask the court reporter at the time you make your request. Please note that it can take several weeks to receive your transcript.