Superior Court of California
County of Solano

Rule 14 — Unlawful Detainer

141 TELEPHONIC APPEARANCES

Telephonic appearances in unlawful detainer cases will be permitted only to the extent
authorized by California Rules of Court, rule 3.670, and in the manner required by that rule
and Solano County Local Rules, rule 4.12(h).

(Rule 14.1 amended effective January 1, 2010, adopted effective January 1, 2009.)

14.2 TRIAL MANAGEMENT

The court may, in its discretion, order the parties to an unlawful detainer matter to
participate in a trial management conference and/or settlement conference in cases where
the case is to be tried by a jury.

(Rule 14.2 adopted effective January 1, 2010.)

14.3 ATTORNEY FEES IN DEFAULT MATTERS
a. CASES FILED AS LIMITED CIVIL MATTERS

In default unlawful detainer actions filed as limited civil matters, the attorney fees
are fixed upon the schedule set forth in subsection (c), based on principal only, with
a minimum of $300.00. The maximum fee shall not exceed the court's jurisdiction.
Any attorney seeking fees in an unlawful detainer action in excess of those provided
for by the schedule in subsection (c) is required to apply for a hearing on the Default
Calendar or supply an affidavit in accordance with Code of Civil Procedure section
585(d).

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2012, previously adopted as unlettered
portion of Rule 9.1 effective May 13, 1988, amended and relettered as Subd (d) of
Rule 9.1 effective January 1, 2009; adopted as subd (a) effective January 1, 2010.)

b. CASES FILED AS UNLIMITED CIVIL MATTERS
In default unlawful detainer actions filed as unlimited civil matters, the attorney
fees are fixed upon the schedule set forth in subsection (c), based on principal only,

with a minimum of $300.00. Any attorney seeking fees in an unlawful detainer
action in excess of those provided for by the schedule in subsection (c) is required
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to apply for a hearing on the Default Calendar or supply an affidavit in accordance
with Code of Civil Procedure section 585(d).

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2012; adopted effective January 1, 2010.)
c. SCHEDULE OF ATTORNEY FEES
Attorney fees in unlawful detainer actions shall be calculated as follows:
25% of the first $1,000, with a minimum of $300
15% of the next $9,000
10% of the next $15,000
(Subd (c) adopted effective January 1, 2010.)
(Rule 14.3 amended effective January 1, 2012, adopted effective January 1, 2010.)
144 DEMURRERS, MOTIONS TO STRIKE AND OTHER MOTIONS WITH NO
SPECIFIC STATUTE STATING OTHERWISE
To effect the summary intent of the unlawful detainer statutes, the Court finds good cause
to set unlawful detainer hearings on all demurrers, motions to strike, and any other motions
for which there is no specific statute stating otherwise pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure
§1167.4, and treat said motions for scheduling purposes as motions to quash. Code of Civil
Procedure §1179a; Greener v. WCAB (1993) 6 Cal. 4th 1028, 1036; Delta Imports, Inc. v.
Municipal Court (1983) 146 Cal. App. 3d 1033.

(Rule 14.4 adopted effective July 1, 2022.)
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