Superior Court of California, County of Solano

What is the breakdown of your bail or fine?

Penalties and Assessments

What is a Penalty Assessment?

It is an amount added to base bail and base fines on infraction, misdemeanor and felony offenses. The current penalty assessment (June 27, 2012), is \$27 for each \$10 or portion of \$10 fine or bail as set by the California State Legislature. The \$27 Penalty Assessment is charged pursuant to Penal Code section 1464 and Government Code sections 76000, 70372, 76104.6, 76104.7 and 76000.5.

In addition to the penalty assessment, a \$40 court operations assessment is added for each infraction, misdemeanor or felony violation resulting in a conviction pursuant to PC 1465.8. Effective Jan. 1, 2009, an assessment in the amount of \$30 for each misdemeanor or felony and \$35 for each infraction is added for each conviction (GC 70373). There is also a 20% State Surcharge, effective since September 20, 2002, imposed on the base bail or base fine amount. This 20% may not be used to calculate the Penalty Assessment per each \$10 of fine or bail. These penalties are also included in the calculation for traffic school.

Example of fine amount for vehicle code:			Where the money goes
Base fine amount	(\$25)	\$ 25.00	State Automation 2%, County 18%, City 80%
Penalty Assessment	(\$81)	30.00	State Penalty Fund (PC 1464) 70% State, 30% County
		21.00	County Penalty Fund (GC 76000)
		15.00	State Court Facilities Construction Fund (GC 70372)
		15.00	DNA Identification Fund (GC 76104.6 and GC 76104.7)
State Surcharge 20%		5.00	State General Fund (PC 1465.7)
Court Operations Assessment		40.00	To fund security in the trial courts (PC 1465.8)
Conviction Assessment Fee		35.00	To fund building/maintaining trial courts (GC 70373(a)(1))
TAP Fee		12.00	Traffic Assistance Program Fee (VC 11205.2)
Admin Fee		10.00	Administrative Fee (VC 40508.6(b))
EMAT Fee		4.00	Emergency Medical Air Transportation (GC 76000.10(c))
Total Fine		\$ 212.00	

Traffic School

Traffic School calculation is based on Base Fine + Penalty Assessment + Security Fee + State Surcharge + Conviction Assessment + Admin Fee + State mandated Traffic School Fee.

Proof of Correction

Effective January 1, 2009, the fee is \$25 for each correctable violation when submitting proof of correction. (VC 40611)

Prior Moving Violations

The base fine for one Vehicle Code moving violation that is assessed 'points' on a current arrest or citation shall be enhanced by \$10 for each 'prior' conviction within 36 months of the new alleged offense.

The Court's Responsibility

The trial courts are required to follow the law as established by the Legislature. The trial courts do not establish these fines or fees. If you are concerned with the amount of your fine, you may wish to contact your state legislator.

REV. 7/01/2019