## Superior Court of California County of Solano

#### Rule 14 – Unlawful Detainer

#### 14.1 TELEPHONIC APPEARANCES

Remote appearances in unlawful detainer cases will be permitted only to the extent authorized by California Rules of Court, rules 3.670 and 3.672, and in the manner required by those rules and Solano County Local Rules, rule 4.12(h).

(Rule 14.1 amended effective January 1, 2025; adopted effective January 1, 2009; previously amended effective January 1, 2010.)

#### 14.2 TRIAL MANAGEMENT

The court may, in its discretion, order the parties to an unlawful detainer matter to participate in a trial management conference and/or settlement conference in cases where the case is to be tried by a jury.

(Rule 14.2 adopted effective January 1, 2010.)

#### 14.3 ATTORNEY FEES IN DEFAULT MATTERS

#### a. CASES FILED AS LIMITED CIVIL MATTERS

In default unlawful detainer actions filed as limited civil matters, the attorney fees are fixed upon the schedule set forth in subsection (c), based on principal only, with a minimum of \$300.00. The term "principal" includes any rent amount awarded plus holdover damages awarded, but excludes interest and costs. The maximum fee shall not exceed the court's jurisdiction. Any attorney seeking fees in an unlawful detainer action in excess of those provided for by the schedule in subsection (c) is required to apply for a hearing on the Default Calendar or supply an affidavit in accordance with Code of Civil Procedure section 585(d).

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2025; previously adopted as unlettered portion of Rule 9.1 effective May 13, 1988; amended and relettered as Subd (d) of Rule 9.1 effective January 1, 2009; adopted as subd (a) effective January 1, 2010; previously amended effective January 1, 2012.)

#### b. Cases Filed as Unlimited Civil Matters

In default unlawful detainer actions filed as unlimited civil matters, the attorney fees are fixed upon the schedule set forth in subsection (c), based on principal only, with a minimum of \$300.00. The term "principal" includes any rent amount

14-1

### Superior Court of California County of Solano

#### Rule 14 – Unlawful Detainer

awarded plus holdover damages awarded but excludes interest and costs. Any attorney seeking fees in an unlawful detainer action in excess of those provided for by the schedule in subsection (c) is required to apply for a hearing on the Default Calendar or supply an affidavit in accordance with Code of Civil Procedure section 585(d).

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2025; adopted effective January 1, 2010; previously amended effective January 1, 2012.)

#### c. SCHEDULE OF ATTORNEY FEES

Attorney fees in unlawful detainer actions shall be calculated as follows:

25% of the first \$1,000, with a minimum of \$300 15% of the next \$9,000 10% of the next \$15,000 7% of any amount above \$25,000

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2025; adopted effective January 1, 2010.)

(Rule 14.3 amended effective January 1, 2025; adopted effective January 1, 2010; previously amended effective January 1, 2012.)

# 14.4 DEMURRERS, MOTIONS TO STRIKE AND OTHER MOTIONS WITH NO SPECIFIC STATUTE STATING OTHERWISE

To effect the summary intent of the unlawful detainer statutes, the Court finds good cause to set unlawful detainer hearings on all demurrers, motions to strike, and any other motions for which there is no specific statute stating otherwise pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure §1167.4, and treat said motions for scheduling purposes as motions to quash. Code of Civil Procedure §1179a; Greener v. WCAB (1993) 6 Cal. 4th 1028, 1036; Delta Imports, Inc. v. Municipal Court (1983) 146 Cal. App. 3d 1033.

(Rule 14.4 adopted effective July 1, 2022.)

# Superior Court of California County of Solano



www.solano.courts.ca.gov January 2025