Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR): Click here to access the ADR page.
Assignment of Judges
It is the policy of this court to manage all cases from the time the complaint is filed until a final disposition has been achieved. Upon the filing of the complaint, the case shall be assigned to one judge for all purposes. That means that each time you come to court it will be in front of the same judge unless, for some reason, your case is reassigned.
Clerks in the civil division are prohibited from giving legal advice. This includes, but is not limited to, assistance in filling out legal forms and advice on legal procedures.
If you need legal advice, you should contact an attorney or one of the following:
- Lawyers Referral Service (707) 422-0127
- Legal Aid (800) 270-7252
- Bar Referral (707) 422-5087
- Self-Help Center: www.courtinfo.ca.gov/selfhelp
- Click here for our Legal Resource Listing
If you plan to proceed with your case without an attorney, you may use the Solano County Law Library, located on the third floor of the Hall of Justice in Fairfield, for reference material.
Civil Court Categories
|Dollar Amount||The case is usually a...|
|Under $10,000||Small Claims case|
|Up to $25,000||Limited jurisdiction civil case|
|Over $25,000||Unlimited jurisdiction civil case|
General Civil Procedures
It is important to file any and all documents you want the judge to review well in advance of your hearing. For details on how to file your documents, see the Civil FAQ's.
Many of the documents you will need to file (such as a complaint or an answer) are available as pre-printed fillable forms. You can get many of the court forms you will need at the court clerk's office or online (select "civil" from the drop down menu ).
For information regarding nonrefundable jury fees, please click on the Nonrefundable Jury Fee link.
There are fees for the filing of certain forms (such as a complaint or an answer). You can find a list of the filing fees here. If you cannot afford to pay the fees, you may apply for a fee waiver. The form, instructions and proposed order are available here; select "fee waiver" from the drop down menu. PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY TO SEE IF YOU QUALIFY.
You can find out more about your type of civil case by talking to a lawyer, using online information, or visiting the law library at the Hall of Justice in Fairfield.
You can get copies of documents in your case file by visiting the civil clerk's office located at 580 Texas Street, Fairfield, CA and paying the copy fees ($0.50 for each 1-sided page, $1.00 for each 2-sided page).
You can get transcripts of your court hearings by making a request to the court reporter who was present at your hearing. You can get that information by contacting the civil clerk's office. There will be a fee for the transcript; please ask the court reporter at the time you make your request. Please note that it can take several weeks to receive your transcript.
|Old Solano Courthouse
Civil Clerk's Office
580 Texas Street
Fairfield, CA 94533
8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding Court holidays.
Documents are filed in the civil clerk's division located at 580 Texas Street, Fairfield, CA. To ensure timely receipt to the judge of any upcoming court documents, please file at least two days before any scheduled hearing.
For more information about Unlawful Detainer cases click here.
Civil Drop Box
Between the hours of 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. you may drop your papers for filing into the drop box at the civil clerk's at the Old Solano Courthouse in Fairfield. Your papers will be file-stamped with the same date that they were placed into the drop box. If your filing requires a fee, please SECURELY attach a check ~DO NOT ATTACH CASH~ to your documents. If you want an endorsed-filed copy returned to you, include an extra copy of your documents and a self-addressed stamped envelope.
Click here for information related to the Solano Justice Center in Vallejo Drop Box.
Filing by Mail
You may also file your documents by mailing them to the address listed above. PLEASE allow adequate time from the date of mailing for your documents to arrive at the court. If your filing requires a fee, please SECURELY attach a check ~DO NOT ATTACH CASH~ to your documents. If you want an endorsed-filed copy returned to you, include an extra copy of your documents and a self-addressed stamped envelope.
Filings by Fax
Solano County does not accept filings received by FAX. Documents received by fax may be presented for filing in person, or by mail, with the applicable fees by a FAX filing agency, attorney's office or other third party pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 2.303.
8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding Court holidays
8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding Court holidays
Fairfield: (707) 207-7330
Please click on the Statewide Civil Filing Fee Schedule to see a full listing of all filing fees.
Local and Judicial Council pre-printed forms are available in the Civil Division at either court location. For fillable online forms, please click here for local forms or here (select "civil" from the drop down menu) for Judicial Council forms.
Ex Parte Hearings
Ex parte matters will be heard only upon appointment scheduled through the assigned judge's assistant. The ex parte application shall comply with California Rule of Court 3.1200-3.1207 and a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours notice is considered reasonable notice of the intention to apply for an ex parte order.
Solano County Superior Court offers you the option of appearing telephonically on certain civil matters pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 3.670. Fees are charged by the service provider for this option. To make arrangements for telephonic appearances please contact:
Phone: (310) 342-0888 or (888) 882-6878
Fax: (310) 743-1850 or (888) 883-2946
Back to Top